compare

Retake AI vs Onpose: fix the photo or the pose? (Oct 2026)

Retake AI fixes photos after you take them, with an AI face model built from 12 uploaded photos. Onpose helps you pose before the shot, on your iPhone.

We make Onpose, so we're not neutral. Facts about Retake AI come from App Store listings and Apple's public data; the sources and the dates we checked them are at the end of the page.

Onpose and Retake AI, feature by feature
feature Onpose Retake AI
What it does Shows a see-through pose over your live camera so you can line up Generates realistic AI retakes of photos you already have
When it helps Before and during the shot After the shot
Pose shown over the live camera Retake AI's listing describes AI editing of existing photos, not a live-camera posing tool. Yes, with an opacity slider Not stated
AI features None advertised A personalised AI face and photo model built from 12 uploaded photos
Where photos go Retake AI's listing: 'uploading 12 of your favorite pictures, from which your personalized AI Face & Photo model will be crafted'. Not uploaded; there's no Onpose server, and saved photos go to your camera roll Uploaded: 12 photos are used to build your face model
Privacy label: Data Linked to You Self-declared by each developer on the App Store. Retake AI also declares User Content under Data Used to Track You, and User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data and Diagnostics as Data Not Linked to You. Onpose declares Purchases and Usage Data as Data Not Linked to You. None User Content
What you can do free Retake AI's listing doesn't describe what's free and what needs a subscription. In Onpose, taking and saving photos is part of Pro. Browse poses, open the camera and line up with the overlay Not stated
Prices listed (US App Store) Retake AI lists five weekly prices ($4.99, $6.99, $7.99, $9.99, $14.99) and one yearly price ($59.99) on 21 Oct 2026. Apple's list can include intro or older prices; the in-app paywall is the authority. $7.99/week or $39.99/year (US App Store, October 2026) Weekly Pro from $4.99 to $14.99; yearly Pro $59.99
US App Store rating (21 Oct 2026) No ratings yet 4.61 from 52,602 ratings
US Photo & Video chart (21 Oct 2026) Not in the top 100 #35 free, #18 grossing
First released 13 Aug 2026 1 Oct 2023
Latest version 1.0.1 (19 Aug 2026) 4.2.0 (20 Oct 2026)
Languages on the listing English English and 7 more

Retake AI and Onpose solve the same problem at different moments. Retake AI fixes a photo after you’ve taken it: you upload 12 photos, it builds a personalised AI face model, and it generates “retakes” of your pictures. Onpose works before the shot: it puts a see-through pose over your live camera so you get the pose right in the first place, and it doesn’t upload your photos.

We make Onpose, so keep that in mind as you read. Every fact about Retake AI on this page comes from its US App Store listing or Apple’s public data, checked on 21 Oct 2026, and the sources are listed at the end. We haven’t hands-on tested Retake AI.

Pose it right, or fix it after

  • Retake AI (after the shot). According to its App Store listing, you start by “uploading 12 of your favorite pictures, from which your personalized AI Face & Photo model will be crafted”. The app then generates realistic AI versions of your photos. The result is a generated image, and you don’t need to reshoot.
  • Onpose (before the shot). You pick a pose from Onpose’s library, or import a photo you saved, and it appears semi-transparent over your live camera, like tracing paper. You line up and shoot with a hands-free timer or burst, and your photos aren’t uploaded anywhere.

If your photos already exist and you don’t want to reshoot, an editor is the only option. If you’re about to take the photo, getting the pose right in the camera saves you the fix.

Where Retake AI is stronger

  • It works on photos you already have. Onpose is built for the moment you take the photo.
  • Track record. Retake AI has been on the App Store since 1 Oct 2023 and has 4.61 stars from 52,602 US ratings (21 Oct 2026). On the same day it was #35 free and #18 grossing in the US Photo & Video chart. Onpose launched on 13 Aug 2026, has no ratings yet and isn’t in the top 100.
  • Languages. Retake AI is listed in English and 7 more languages. Onpose is English only.

Where Onpose is stronger

  • Photos aren’t uploaded. Onpose doesn’t upload your photos or reference images; there’s no Onpose server and no account. Retake AI’s face model is built from photos you upload, and its privacy label lists User Content as data linked to you.
  • Clear free tier. Onpose’s listing spells out what’s free: browsing poses and lining up with the overlay. Retake AI’s listing doesn’t say.

For posing technique that works with or without an app, read how to pose for photos, or browse Onpose’s pose sets.

Who should pick which

Choose Retake AI if you want to improve photos you’ve already taken and you’re comfortable uploading photos of yourself. Choose Onpose if you want to get the shot right as you take it without uploading your photos. To compare Onpose with apps that work in the camera, see the comparison page.

About Onpose

Onpose (App Store name: “Onpose: Pose Ideas & Camera”) is an iPhone app for taking posed photos of yourself and your friends. You pick a pose, either from Onpose’s library of outfit, travel, going-out and with-friends poses or from any photo you’ve saved, such as a Pinterest pin or an Instagram screenshot, and it appears semi-transparent over your live camera, like tracing paper. You line yourself up and shoot, using a hands-free timer, burst, mirror, grid and level line. Onpose doesn’t upload your photos or reference images. There’s no Onpose server and no account; saved photos go to your camera roll. Browsing poses and lining up with the overlay are free; taking and saving photos requires Onpose Pro.

Changelog

  • 21 Oct 2026: first version. All facts checked on the US App Store on 21 Oct 2026.

sources

  1. Retake AI Face & Selfie Editor on the App Store (US) · accessed October 21, 2026
  2. iTunes Lookup API: Retake AI (US): rating, version, release date · accessed October 21, 2026
  3. US Photo & Video top free apps (Apple RSS feed) · accessed October 21, 2026
  4. US Photo & Video top grossing apps (Apple RSS feed) · accessed October 21, 2026
  5. Onpose: Pose Ideas & Camera on the App Store (US) · accessed October 21, 2026

questions

Is Retake AI free?

It's a free download, but its listing doesn't say what's free and what needs a subscription. Listed US in-app purchases on 21 Oct 2026 were weekly Pro plans from $4.99 to $14.99 and a yearly plan at $59.99. Check the paywall in the app for the current price.

Does Retake AI upload my photos?

Yes, that's how it works. Its listing describes 'uploading 12 of your favorite pictures, from which your personalized AI Face & Photo model will be crafted'. Onpose doesn't upload your photos or reference images; there's no Onpose server.

Can I use Retake AI and Onpose together?

Yes. They don't overlap. Onpose helps you pose and frame the shot as you take it, and Retake AI generates edited versions of photos afterwards.

try it on your next photo.

Onpose puts the pose over your iPhone camera so you can line up and shoot.

Download on the App Store