compare
Is Empose free? Empose app vs Onpose (Oct 2026)
Empose is a free download, but its pose guides, weekly drops and AI Looks need Premium. Onpose is free to browse and line up with; saving photos needs Pro.
We make Onpose, so we're not neutral. Facts about Empose come from App Store listings and Apple's public data; the sources and the dates we checked them are at the end of the page.
| feature | Onpose | Empose |
|---|---|---|
| What it's built around | A camera that shows the pose over your live view | A curated library of aesthetic poses with weekly drops |
| Pose shown over the live camera Empose's listing describes a camera with a countdown and a level, and a scan, but doesn't say a pose is overlaid on the live camera. | Yes, with an opacity slider | Not stated |
| Use your own saved photo as the pose | Yes: Pinterest pins, Instagram screenshots, camera roll | Not stated |
| Pose library | 66 poses in 4 sets: outfit, travel, going out, with friends | Curated library with style and mood filters; weekly drops with Premium |
| Duo poses | Yes: the 18 with-friends poses | Yes |
| Camera tools | Hands-free timer, burst, mirror, grid, level line | Countdown with sound or light, level |
| AI features | None advertised | AI Looks restyles a photo you took (Premium); a scan that recognises what's in frame |
| What you can do free Empose's listing: 'Pose guides, the weekly pose drops and AI Looks in Studio require an Empose Premium subscription'. One reviewer reported on 19 Sep 2026 that 'out of 80 poses only 3 are available if you don’t have a subscription'. In Onpose, taking and saving photos is part of Pro. | Browse poses, open the camera and line up with the overlay | Pose guides, weekly drops and AI Looks need Premium |
| Prices listed (US App Store) Empose lists five yearly prices ($9.99, $19.99, $29.99, $39.99 and $59.99) and credit packs from 10 for $2.99 to 60 for $12.99 on 21 Oct 2026. Apple's list can include intro or older prices; the in-app paywall is the authority. | $7.99/week or $39.99/year (US App Store, October 2026) | $6.99/week, $11.99/month, yearly from $9.99 to $59.99, plus credits |
| Where photos are processed Empose's listing doesn't say where AI Looks run. | On the iPhone; Onpose doesn't upload photos or reference images | Not stated |
| Privacy label: Data Linked to You Self-declared by each developer on the App Store. Onpose declares Purchases and Usage Data as Data Not Linked to You. | None | Purchases, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data |
| Account | No account | Not stated |
| US App Store rating (21 Oct 2026) | No ratings yet | 4.19 from 103 ratings |
| Latest version | 1.0.1 (19 Aug 2026) | 1.6.1 (19 Oct 2026) |
| Languages on the listing | English | English and 24 more |
Empose is a free download, but not free to use in full. Its App Store listing says “Pose guides, the weekly pose drops and AI Looks in Studio require an Empose Premium subscription”. Listed US prices on 21 Oct 2026 included $6.99 a week and $11.99 a month. In Onpose, browsing poses and lining up with the overlay are free. Taking and saving photos needs Pro.
We make Onpose, so keep that in mind as you read. Every fact about Empose on this page comes from its US App Store listing, Apple’s public data or its public App Store reviews, checked on 21 Oct 2026, and the sources are listed at the end. We haven’t hands-on tested Empose yet.
Inspiration library or overlay camera
Empose, listed as “Empose: Aesthetic Poses”, is built around its library. It has curated poses with style and mood filters, personalised by face, hands, posture, legs and stance, and new poses drop weekly for Premium members. Around the library it adds planning tools: shoot plans with reminders and contact sheets, plus a monthly recap. AI Looks restyles a photo you’ve already taken. The camera has a countdown with sound or light and a level.
Onpose is built around the camera. You choose a pose from its library or import a photo you saved, and it appears semi-transparent over your live camera, like tracing paper, so you can line yourself up.
Empose’s listing doesn’t say whether a pose is drawn over the live camera. If that’s the feature you want, check it in the app before you subscribe.
What’s free in each
- Empose: pose guides, weekly drops and AI Looks need Premium. Reviewers report that very few poses are free. One wrote on 19 Sep 2026: “out of 80 poses only 3 are available if you don’t have a subscription”.
- Onpose: browsing every pose, opening the camera and lining up with the overlay are free. Taking and saving photos needs Pro, at $7.99/week or $39.99/year (US App Store, October 2026).
Where Empose is stronger
- Curation and filters. Style and mood filters, and personalisation by face, hands, posture, legs and stance.
- Fresh poses. Weekly drops for Premium members.
- Planning. Shoot plans with reminders, contact sheets and a monthly recap.
- Languages and feedback. Empose is listed in English and 24 more languages, with 4.19 stars from 103 US ratings (21 Oct 2026) since it launched on 24 Aug 2026. Onpose is English only, with no ratings yet.
Where Onpose is stronger
- The pose over your camera. Onpose’s overlay is its core feature. Empose’s listing doesn’t describe one.
- Your own photos. Onpose imports any saved photo as the reference. Empose’s listing doesn’t describe this.
- Trying before paying. Every pose and the overlay are free to use for lining up.
- Photos aren’t uploaded. Onpose doesn’t upload your photos or reference images (there’s no Onpose server), and its privacy label declares no data linked to you. Empose doesn’t say where AI Looks run, and it lists Purchases, User Content, Identifiers and Usage Data as data linked to you.
Browse the outfit poses to see Onpose’s library, or read how to pose for photos for technique that works with any app.
Who should pick which
Choose Empose if a curated, filterable library with planning tools is what you’re after and Premium fits your budget. Choose Onpose if you want the pose over your camera, including photos you’ve saved, and want to try it free first. For free and paid apps that do what Empose does, see our Empose alternatives, or all our comparisons.
About Onpose
Onpose (App Store name: “Onpose: Pose Ideas & Camera”) is an iPhone app for taking posed photos of yourself and your friends. You pick a pose, either from Onpose’s library of outfit, travel, going-out and with-friends poses or from any photo you’ve saved, such as a Pinterest pin or an Instagram screenshot, and it appears semi-transparent over your live camera, like tracing paper. You line yourself up and shoot, using a hands-free timer, burst, mirror, grid and level line. Onpose doesn’t upload your photos or reference images. There’s no Onpose server and no account; saved photos go to your camera roll. Browsing poses and lining up with the overlay are free; taking and saving photos requires Onpose Pro.
Changelog
- 21 Oct 2026: first version. All facts checked on the US App Store on 21 Oct 2026.
sources
- Empose: Aesthetic Poses on the App Store (US) · accessed October 21, 2026
- iTunes Lookup API: Empose (US): rating, version, release date · accessed October 21, 2026
- Empose customer reviews, US App Store (Apple RSS feed, most recent) · accessed October 21, 2026
- Onpose: Pose Ideas & Camera on the App Store (US) · accessed October 21, 2026
questions
Is Empose free?
Empose is a free download, but its listing says pose guides, the weekly pose drops and AI Looks require an Empose Premium subscription. One reviewer reported on 19 Sep 2026 that 3 of 80 poses were available without a subscription. Listed US prices on 21 Oct 2026 included $6.99 a week and $11.99 a month.
Does Empose show the pose over the camera?
Its listing describes a camera with a countdown and a level, and a scan, but doesn't say a pose is overlaid on the live camera. We haven't tested it yet. Onpose shows the pose semi-transparent over the live camera, with an opacity slider.
Do Empose and Onpose have poses for two people?
Yes. Empose's listing mentions duo poses. Onpose's with-friends set has 18 poses, all for two people, but Onpose has no couples set.