compare

Is the Photogenik app free? Photogenik vs Onpose (Oct 2026)

No. Photogenik is a free download, but its listing says a subscription is required to use the app. Onpose is free to browse and line up with; saving needs Pro.

We make Onpose, so we're not neutral. Facts about Photogenik come from App Store listings and Apple's public data; the sources and the dates we checked them are at the end of the page.

Onpose and Photogenik, feature by feature
feature Onpose Photogenik
What you can do free Photogenik's listing: 'An active subscription is required to access the app.' Onpose's listing: taking and saving photos is part of Pro. Browse poses, open the camera and line up with the overlay Subscription required to use the app
Prices listed (US App Store) Photogenik prices as listed on 21 Oct 2026. Best Shots uses separate credits, from 3 for $2.99 to 50 for $24.99. Its listing says eligible annual subscribers may receive a free trial and the monthly plan has none. Prices may vary; the in-app paywall is the authority. $7.99/week or $39.99/year (US App Store, October 2026) $5.99/week, $11.99/month or $79.99/year, plus credit packs
How it guides you while shooting Photogenik 2.0 (5 Oct 2026) moved the app to spoken coaching with voice controls. A see-through pose over the live camera, like tracing paper Spoken AI coaching, in Photogenik and alongside Apple Camera
Pose drawn over the live camera The listing says 'Get posing ideas while shooting in Photogenik' but doesn't say a pose is drawn over the live camera. We'll update this row after a hands-on test of version 2.0. Yes, with an opacity slider Not stated
Use your own saved photo as the pose Yes: Pinterest pins, Instagram screenshots, camera roll Not stated
Pose library 66 poses in 4 sets: outfit, travel, going out, with friends Yes, with saved favorites (size not stated)
AI features None advertised Spoken coaching that can respond to what you shoot; AI-assisted Best Shots
Photo editor No Yes, processes images on the iPhone
Where photos are processed Photogenik's listing: 'Cloud coaching and Best Shots require separate, explicit sharing permission.' and 'An internet connection is required for cloud features.' On the iPhone; Onpose doesn't upload photos or reference images Cloud for coaching and Best Shots, with your permission; editor on the iPhone
Privacy label: Data Linked to You Self-declared by each developer on the App Store. Onpose declares Purchases and Usage Data as Data Not Linked to You. None Purchases, Location, Contact Info, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data, Diagnostics
Account No account Not stated
US App Store rating (21 Oct 2026) No ratings yet 4.66 from 200 ratings
Latest version 1.0.1 (19 Aug 2026) 2.0 (5 Oct 2026)
Languages on the listing English English

Photogenik isn’t free to use. It’s a free download, but its App Store listing says “An active subscription is required to access the app.” Listed US prices were $5.99 a week, $11.99 a month or $79.99 a year on 21 Oct 2026. In Onpose, browsing poses and lining up with the overlay are free. Taking and saving photos needs Pro.

We make Onpose, so keep that in mind as you read. Every fact about Photogenik on this page comes from its US App Store listing or Apple’s public data, checked on 21 Oct 2026, and the sources are listed at the end. We haven’t hands-on tested Photogenik 2.0 yet.

What changed in Photogenik 2.0

Photogenik 2.0 came out on 5 Oct 2026 and changed what the app is. It’s now built around spoken AI coaching that the listing says “can respond to what you are shooting”. The coaching runs inside Photogenik and alongside Apple’s Camera app, with voice controls. The listing also describes a pose library with saved favorites, a photo editor that works on the iPhone, and Best Shots, which compares photos you pick and helps you choose the strongest one. Best Shots uses credits that are sold separately from the subscription.

Reviews and articles written before October 2026 describe version 1, so features they mention may have changed.

Coaching or an overlay

The two apps guide you in different ways:

  • Photogenik talks you through it. Spoken coaching tells you what to change while you shoot. Coaching and Best Shots use the cloud, and the listing says they “require separate, explicit sharing permission”.
  • Onpose shows you the shape. You pick a pose from the library, or import a photo you saved, and it sits semi-transparent over your live camera so you can line yourself up. Onpose doesn’t upload your photos or reference images, and there’s no account.

If you want to copy one specific photo, such as a Pinterest pin, an overlay lets you match it directly. If you’d rather be told what to fix without choosing a pose first, coaching suits you better. Our guide to how to pose for photos covers the basics for both.

Where Photogenik is stronger

  • Live coaching. Onpose doesn’t coach you. It shows the pose and leaves the matching to you.
  • Picking your best shot. Best Shots compares photos you select and helps you choose the strongest.
  • Editing. Photogenik has a built-in editor. Onpose has none.
  • Public feedback. Photogenik has 4.66 stars from 200 US ratings (21 Oct 2026). Onpose has no ratings yet.

Where Onpose is stronger

  • Trying before paying. You can browse every pose and line up with the overlay before you pay. Photogenik’s listing says you need a subscription to use the app at all.
  • Using your own saved photos. Onpose imports any photo you’ve saved as the reference. Photogenik’s listing doesn’t describe this.
  • Photos aren’t uploaded. Onpose doesn’t upload your photos or reference images (there’s no Onpose server), and its privacy label declares no data linked to you. Photogenik declares seven categories, including User Content and Location.

Onpose’s library is small: 66 poses in four sets. Browse the outfit poses to see whether the set suits you.

Who should pick which

Choose Photogenik if spoken coaching is what you want and a subscription doesn’t put you off. Choose Onpose if you know the pose you’re after and want to line it up free before deciding. For more options, see our Photogenik alternatives, or all our comparisons.

About Onpose

Onpose (App Store name: “Onpose: Pose Ideas & Camera”) is an iPhone app for taking posed photos of yourself and your friends. You pick a pose, either from Onpose’s library of outfit, travel, going-out and with-friends poses or from any photo you’ve saved, such as a Pinterest pin or an Instagram screenshot, and it appears semi-transparent over your live camera, like tracing paper. You line yourself up and shoot, using a hands-free timer, burst, mirror, grid and level line. Onpose doesn’t upload your photos or reference images. There’s no Onpose server and no account; saved photos go to your camera roll. Browsing poses and lining up with the overlay are free; taking and saving photos requires Onpose Pro.

Changelog

  • 21 Oct 2026: first version. All facts checked on the US App Store on 21 Oct 2026.

sources

  1. Photogenik: Pose & Photo Coach on the App Store (US) · accessed October 21, 2026
  2. iTunes Lookup API: Photogenik (US): rating, version, release date · accessed October 21, 2026
  3. Onpose: Pose Ideas & Camera on the App Store (US) · accessed October 21, 2026

questions

Is Photogenik free?

Photogenik is a free download, but its App Store listing says 'An active subscription is required to access the app.' Listed US prices on 21 Oct 2026 were $5.99 a week, $11.99 a month or $79.99 a year. The listing says eligible annual subscribers may get a free trial, and the monthly plan has none.

Does Photogenik show a pose over the camera?

Its listing for version 2.0 doesn't say so. It describes spoken coaching and says you can get posing ideas while shooting. We haven't tested version 2.0 yet and will update this page when we have.

What changed in Photogenik 2.0?

Version 2.0, released on 5 Oct 2026, centres the app on spoken AI camera coaching. The coaching works inside Photogenik and alongside Apple's Camera app, and you can control it by voice. Best Shots, which compares photos you pick and helps choose the strongest, uses separate credits.

Is Onpose free?

Browsing poses, opening the camera and lining up with the overlay are free. Taking and saving photos needs Onpose Pro, at $7.99/week or $39.99/year (US App Store, October 2026). There's no account, and Onpose doesn't upload your photos.

try it on your next photo.

Onpose puts the pose over your iPhone camera so you can line up and shoot.

Download on the App Store